Category: Classic Rock

The War Of The City - J. Blackfoot - City Slicker (CD, Album)

Posted on by Kazrajind

It's a little piece of history. For those in the "know". Who want a keepsake, memento or souvenir. To commemorate their time. In the Southern Soul limelight. Browse through all the Southern Soul satirical sketches in Daddy B. Browse through all the Southern Soul sketches in Daddy B. Browse through all the Southern Soul collectibles in Daddy B. Nice's Southern Soul Products Store. Nice's Top Southern Soul Artists, which covered the twenty years from Nice Memorial Details: John "J. Blackfoot" Colbert, Jr.

November 20th, d. November 30th, passed away quietly at a local Memphis hospital surrounded by family, friends and loved ones. Blackfoot, including Daddy B. Nice's enthusiastic comments on Blackfoot's extended version of "Meow," with the deejay-fan prologue Tidbit 5.

To automatically link to J. Blackfoot's charted radio singles, awards, CD's and other references, go to "Blackfoot, J. Nice's Comprehensive Index. Nice's Original Critique J. Blackfoot reportedly picked up his musical name as a young man walking the tarred sidewalks of Memphis barefoot. And like the perennial "black sheep" of the family, he's not the first "relation" you'd introduce to someone on whom you were trying to make a good first impression with your Southern Soul "family"--that's for sure.

Because as much as J. Blackfoot's recordings have a way of working themselves into your memory and eventually your heart, you can never quite shake the notion that by today's standards they're somewhat old-fashioned, a little "dowdy. It incorporates the trademark elements of Blackfoot's style but pays stricter attention to the technical details, and it adds another dramatic dimension in the voice of Ann Hines, with whom Blackfoot duets. When Hines suddenly joins in Blackfoot's exclamations of love, goose pimples sprout on the back of your neck, so sharp is the contrast between the femininity in her vocal and the masculinity in Blackfoot's.

As "Just One Lifetime" closes, the arrangement dovetails fittingly into an acapella verse with spare guitar and woodblock that could be a primer for Southern Soul vocalists. Until the sun and the moon Fall from the sky. And, as in "Just One Lifetime," Ann Hines' folksy vocal--personal, imperfect, and unflinchingly simple--endears the listener with its reality, its sense of "realness".

As sophisticated as Blackfoot's music may sound to an "insider's" ear, "outsiders" may find it as cracked and wrinkled as folk art--the aural equivalent of a sepia-toned, Depression-era photograph. In the early eighties Colbert re-invented himself as "J.

Blackfoot" and in he released his debut CD, City Slicker. Since then, with few exceptions, J. Blackfoot's catalog of material spans twenty years. He is one of the last living links to the Ray Charles- Z. Monday 27 April Tuesday 28 April Wednesday 29 April Thursday 30 April Friday 1 May Saturday 2 May Sunday 3 May Monday 4 May Tuesday 5 May Wednesday 6 May Thursday 7 May Friday 8 May Saturday 9 May Sunday 10 May Monday 11 May Tuesday 12 May Wednesday 13 May Thursday 14 May Friday 15 May Saturday 16 May Sunday 17 May Monday 18 May Tuesday 19 May Wednesday 20 May Thursday 21 May Friday 22 May Saturday 23 May Sunday 24 May Monday 25 May Tuesday 26 May Wednesday 27 May Thursday 28 May Friday 29 May Saturday 30 May Sunday 31 May Monday 1 June Tuesday 2 June Thursday 4 June Friday 5 June Saturday 6 June Sunday 7 June Monday 8 June Tuesday 9 June Monday 15 June Tuesday 16 June Wednesday 17 June Friday 19 June Saturday 20 June Sunday 21 June Monday 22 June Tuesday 23 June Wednesday 24 June Thursday 25 June Get email alerts for J.

Add to Cart. Add to Wishlist. Our customers love us! Join our , fans. Can You Hang. Song previews provided courtesy of iTunes. Personnel: J. Blackfoot's debut solo LP, City Slicker, is a concept album based on that age-old theme, the country boy's experiences when he comes to the city.

Features Interviews Lists. Streams Videos All Posts. Release Date December, Styles Soul. Track Listing. The Way of the City. Homer Banks. Street Girl. One of Those Parties.

J. Blackfoot: City Slicker ‎ (CD, Album) Dance Factory: DFR Netherlands: Sell This Version: ST J. Blackfoot: City Slicker ‎ (LP, Album) Soundtown Records: ST US: Sell This Version: Reviews Add Review [r] Release. Edit Release All Versions of this Release New Submission. Add to.

9 Replies to “The War Of The City - J. Blackfoot - City Slicker (CD, Album)”

  1. Jan 20,  · J. Blackfoot's debut solo LP, City Slicker, is a concept album based on that age-old theme, the country boy's experiences when he comes to the city. .
  2. Discover releases, reviews, credits, songs, and more about J. Blackfoot - City Slicker at Discogs. Complete your J. Blackfoot collection.
  3. Check out City Slicker by J. Blackfoot on Amazon Music. Stream ad-free or purchase CD's and MP3s now on halfcelltitegodfeperarinlelasag.xyzinfo(9).
  4. J. Blackfoot's debut solo LP, City Slicker, is a concept album based on that age-old theme, the country boy's experiences when he comes to the halfcelltitegodfeperarinlelasag.xyzinfo: $
  5. Blackfoot, J - City Slicker - halfcelltitegodfeperarinlelasag.xyzinfo Music. Skip to main content Hello, Sign in. Account & Lists Sign in Account & Lists Returns & Orders. Try Prime Cart. CDs & Vinyl Go Search /5(9).
  6. In the early eighties Colbert re-invented himself as "J. Blackfoot" and in he released his debut CD, City Slicker. The single "Taxi" followed and brought Blackfoot widespread R&B recognition. In "Taxi" climbed into the R&B Top Ten.
  7. May 18,  · J. Blackfoot - City Slicker Sound Town Records ST This is all about 'Taxi' for me, which was highly thought of back in the 80's sitting at #81 in the Blues & Soul Top (readers votes) but for the real soul fans, it may mean much more.
  8. J Blackfoot Album: City Slicker Share page: Overview Credits Comments. Have This Want This. Album Info (This Release) VISITOR RATING RELEASE DATE LABEL LABELCODE MEDIUM GENRE SUBMIT CORRECTIONS. SOUND TOWN ST CD BOOGIE/SOUL (3 / 2) 2. Change Version Add Version. Billboard TOP R&B ALBUMS Chart. Debut Highest Rank Weeks On Chart;
  9. City Slicker, an album by J. Blackfoot on Spotify We and our partners use cookies to personalize your experience, to show you ads based on your interests, and for measurement and analytics purposes. By using our website and our services, you agree to our use of cookies as described in our Cookie Policy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *