Category: Classic Rock

If You Go Away

Posted on by Dihn

I DID enjoy it, but for some reason I didn't enjoy it quite as much as I anticipated, which is why I don't feel I can give it the full 4 stars. It's a long book, and takes quite a while to get going. The early section which gave the backstory to Vivian's marriage seemed overly long and a little dul 3. The early section which gave the backstory to Vivian's marriage seemed overly long and a little dull. Similarly with Howard's background - there seemed an awful lot of detail.

Once it moved into the war period the pace quickened and the story became much more interesting. The wartime detail about life both at home and in France added depth and credibility. There is some lovely characterisation and I particularly liked the development of Vivian's character once she moved to the country.

Also the friendship between Enid and Vivian was beautifully expressed. This clearly wasn't going to be an easy story to end and as a result I felt rather sad for one of the characters by the final chapter! The only other comment I'd make is that I listened to some of the book as an audiobook.

I think this perhaps contributed to my sense of the book feeling rather long. Also the voice of Vivian was presented in a rather girlish way which could also have influenced my feelings about it. Definitely worth a read - especially if you like historical fiction of this era, but I'd recommend the book and not the audio version.

Jun 08, Sara Kettleborough rated it really liked it. I could not believe my luck when a couple of months ago a beautiful signed proof number 30 of !! The same definitely goes for her latest novel, If You Go Away. There is absolutely no doubt that If You Go Away is beautifully written. It is descriptive, expressive and the characters are thoroughly developed.

The meticulous detail of the war is raw, brutal and harrowing and definitely demonstrates the fine writing technique of the author. But I must urge you to stick with it as all the detail and description is placed perfectly for the later story when it really kick starts. I loved the atmosphere that the author created and it felt very authentic, echoing the period brilliantly particularly in relation to gender roles and expectations. Jun 08, Lisa Hall rated it it was amazing Shelves: arc.

I feel a little bit like I've grown up with Adele Parks, from reading her first novel when I was expecting my first baby, right the way through til now - and her writing really reflects how she has grown from her first novel to this novel. A different style of story from your usual chick-lit, Adele has created characters that you can relate to - whether you want to or not.

I'll confess that I was not overly fond of Vivien in the beginning, but as she grows through the story, she changes with the I feel a little bit like I've grown up with Adele Parks, from reading her first novel when I was expecting my first baby, right the way through til now - and her writing really reflects how she has grown from her first novel to this novel.

I'll confess that I was not overly fond of Vivien in the beginning, but as she grows through the story, she changes with the things life throws at her, and by the end I really did like her. There are, of course, characters that you really don't like, and there were some that I still didn't like at the end, but there are other, properly delicious hero-types, that are completely swoon-worthy that I loved from start to finish.

I loved the historical side to it, and there are little details dotted through out that show the reader that Adele has reeeeeeeeally done her research. Also, if you loved Spare Brides, Adele's previous historical novel, you should know that a certain character pops her heading here every now and again ;.

Jun 02, Juliana Graham rated it it was ok. I didn't enjoy this book as much as others by Adele Parks. The historical setting was quite different to the majority of her books but this was not the issue, as I do enjoy novels set in the early twentieth century or around the first or second world wars. However, I did find the plot less engaging than some of her other novels and found the actions of the hero quite confusing when view spoiler [ he signed up to join the war effort as a result of his affair with Vivian - his motivation here was I didn't enjoy this book as much as others by Adele Parks.

However, I did find the plot less engaging than some of her other novels and found the actions of the hero quite confusing when view spoiler [ he signed up to join the war effort as a result of his affair with Vivian - his motivation here was quite unclear to me at least hide spoiler ] I think that the historical period was portrayed well and we saw Vivian grow as a character as she lived an independent life away from her family and husband.

I was however disappointed with the end of the book - it felt very Hollywood and was almost a twist too far! Overall I didn't really relate to any of the characters and whilst it was entertaining enough I think this book could have done a lot more.

Apr 17, Amy rated it liked it Shelves: historical-fiction , reads. It is and Vivian Foster is a debutante with options, but something happens to change her position. She marries, but not for love. Her husband is a traditionalist who joins up as soon as war is declared. This leaves Vivian alone on a Derbyshire farm, far from the bright lights of the London she knows.

Howard Henderson is a brilliant young playwright. He travels to France to report on the war, but what he sees makes him want no part of the it. Killing is not for Howard, but what other choices It is and Vivian Foster is a debutante with options, but something happens to change her position. Killing is not for Howard, but what other choices has he? The story of these two characters is so beautifully written. The changes war brings; I really felt I was there experiencing their thoughts and feelings.

War changes everyone; this story demonstrates this perfectly. There are lots of emotions running through this book. I recommend this to you. I received this book from Lovereading. Aug 05, Karen Whittard rated it really liked it. What a remarkable honest, moving book about the war.

Loved all the different stories but especially about Vivienne. This story is full of love, drama, romance, history, friendship, family and relationships. A captivating story with lots of historical details. Utterly gripping. Made me think a great deal about what those brave soldiers went through.

Wonderful book. Especially loved the twist at the end. May 24, Rachel rated it really liked it Shelves: historical-fiction , ww1 , english-country-house-setting. Well written and researched, this is definitely not chick-lit. It's a really good read. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys historical fiction and particularly that set in WW1.

I'm not going to pretend there are any big surprises, or clever plot twists, it's not that sort of book. It's a satisfying read though. For instance: G,C,D Simple chords names work best. If [ Am ] you go away on this summer day. Then you [ Dm ] might as well take the sun away;.

All the b [ G7 ] irds that flew in the summer sky. When the day was y [ Dm6 ] oung and the night was l [ E7 ] ong. And the [ Am ] moon stood still for the nightbird's song,. But if you [ Am7 ] stay, I'll make you a [ Am6 ] day. Sunday 1 March Monday 2 March Tuesday 3 March Wednesday 4 March Thursday 5 March Friday 6 March Saturday 7 March Sunday 8 March Monday 9 March Tuesday 10 March Wednesday 11 March Thursday 12 March Friday 13 March Saturday 14 March Sunday 15 March Monday 16 March Tuesday 17 March Wednesday 18 March Thursday 19 March Friday 20 March Saturday 21 March Sunday 22 March Monday 23 March Tuesday 24 March Wednesday 25 March Thursday 26 March Friday 27 March Saturday 28 March Monday 30 March Tuesday 31 March Wednesday 1 April Thursday 2 April Friday 3 April Saturday 4 April Saturday 2 May Sunday 3 May Monday 4 May Tuesday 5 May Wednesday 6 May Thursday 7 May Friday 8 May Saturday 9 May Sunday 10 May Monday 11 May Tuesday 12 May Wednesday 13 May Thursday 14 May Friday 15 May Saturday 16 May Sunday 17 May Monday 18 May Tuesday 19 May Wednesday 20 May Thursday 21 May Friday 22 May Saturday 23 May Sunday 24 May Monday 25 May Tuesday 26 May Wednesday 27 May Thursday 28 May Friday 29 May Saturday 30 May Sunday 31 May Monday 1 June Tuesday 2 June Thursday 4 June Friday 5 June Saturday 6 June But if you go, go, I won't cry, Though the good is gone from the word goodbye, If you go away, if you go away, if you go away.

If you go away, as I know you must, There'll be nothing left in the world to trust, Just an empty room, full of empty space, Like the empty look I see on your face. Sunday 15 March Monday 16 March Tuesday 17 March Wednesday 18 March Thursday 19 March Friday 20 March Saturday 21 March Sunday 22 March Monday 23 March Tuesday 24 March Wednesday 25 March Thursday 26 March Friday 27 March Saturday 28 March Monday 30 March Tuesday 31 March Wednesday 1 April Thursday 2 April Friday 3 April Saturday 4 April Sunday 5 April Monday 6 April Tuesday 7 April Wednesday 8 April Thursday 9 April Friday 10 April Saturday 11 April Sunday 12 April Monday 13 April Tuesday 14 April Wednesday 15 April Friday 17 April Saturday 18 April Sunday 19 April Monday 20 April

If You Go Away Lyrics: On this summer day / Then you might as well / Take the sun away / All the birds that flew / In the summer sky / And our love was new / And our hearts were high / When the.

8 Replies to “If You Go Away”

  1. If You Go Away Lyrics: If you go away on this summer day / Then you might as well take the sun away / All the birds that flew in the summer sky / When our love was new and our hearts were high.
  2. If you go away, if you go away, if you go away But if you stay I'll make you a night Like no night has ever been Or will be again I'll sail on you smile I'll ride on your touch I'll talk to your.
  3. If You Go Away Lyrics: If you go away on this summer day then you might as well take the sun away / All the birds that flew in the summer sky / When our love was new and our hearts were high.
  4. If you go away on this summer day Then you might as well take the sun away All the birds that flew in the summer sky When our love was new and our hearts were high When the day was young, and the night was long And the moon stood still for the nightbird's song If you go away, if you go away, if you go away But if you stay, I'll make you a day.
  5. Length If You Go Away is the thirteenth track on Scott Walkers third album Scott 3. It's a cover originally written by Jacques Brel.
  6. If you go away, if you go away, if you go away If you go away, as I know you must There'll be nothing left in this world to trust Just an empty room, full of empty space Like the empty look I see on your face Oh, I'd have been the shadow of your shadow If it might have kept me by your side If you go away, if you go away, if you go away.
  7. If you go away, if you go away, if you go away But if you stay, I'll make you a day Like no day has been or will be again We'll sail the sun, we'll ride on the rain We'll talk to the trees and worship the wind Then if you go, I'll understand Leave me just enough love to hold in my hand If you go away, if you go away, if you go away.
  8. Em Em7/D Em6/C# B7 Em But, if you stay, I'll make you a day like no day has been, or will be a - gain, B7 Em Em7/D Em6/C# We'll sail on the sun, we'll ride on the rain, D7 G We'll talk to the trees, and worship the wind, B7 Em F6 F#m7b5 B7 Em Then, if you go, I'll under - stand, leave me just enough love to hold in my hand, G Am B7 If you go a 4/5(4).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *