Category: Alternative

Pinetop Boogie

Posted on by Vudoshicage

Along with " Crazy About My Baby ", "Pinetop's Boogie Woogie" is sometimes cited as "the first rock and roll song", being an early instance of a danceable 12 bar blues with backbeat. This recording was made in , and its lyrics are exclusively instructions to dancers in the audience, as was traditional at the time. Musically, it is strikingly similar to the previous year's hit, " Honky Tonk Train Blues ", by Meade Lux Lewis , [2] which like "Pinetop's Boogie Woogie" went on to become a standard recorded many times by many artists.

Shortly before he died, while discussing his late career resurgence with an interviewer, he conceded, "I can't play piano like I used to either. I used to have bass rolling like thunder. I can't do that no more. But I ask the Lord, please forgive me for the stuff I done trying to make a nickel. Perkins was also one of the last surviving bluesmen to have known Robert Johnson.

Bruce Iglauer , founder of Chicago's Alligator Records , stated Perkins was "absolutely the premier blues piano player. He was the symbol of a whole generation of musicians. In , Perkins was inducted into the Blues Hall of Fame. At the age of 97, Perkins won a Grammy Award in the category Best Traditional Blues Album for Joined at the Hip , which he recorded with Willie "Big Eyes" Smith , thus becoming the oldest winner of a Grammy Award, [10] edging out the comedian George Burns , who had won in the spoken word category 21 years earlier.

Wednesday 5 February Thursday 6 February Friday 7 February Saturday 8 February Sunday 9 February Tuesday 11 February Wednesday 12 February Thursday 13 February Friday 14 February Saturday 15 February Sunday 16 February Monday 17 February Tuesday 18 February Wednesday 19 February Thursday 20 February Friday 21 February Saturday 22 February Sunday 23 February Monday 24 February Tuesday 25 February Wednesday 26 February Thursday 27 February Friday 28 February Saturday 29 February Sunday 1 March Monday 2 March Tuesday 3 March Wednesday 4 March Thursday 5 March Friday 6 March Saturday 7 March Sunday 8 March Monday 9 March Tuesday 10 March Tuesday 14 April Wednesday 15 April Friday 17 April Saturday 18 April Sunday 19 April Monday 20 April Tuesday 21 April Wednesday 22 April Thursday 23 April Friday 24 April Saturday 25 April Sunday 26 April Monday 27 April Tuesday 28 April Wednesday 29 April Thursday 30 April Friday 1 May Saturday 2 May Sunday 3 May Monday 4 May Tuesday 5 May Wednesday 6 May Thursday 7 May Friday 8 May Saturday 9 May Sunday 10 May Monday 11 May Tuesday 12 May Wednesday 13 May Thursday 14 May Friday 15 May Saturday 16 May Sunday 17 May Monday 18 May You can check out their bios HERE.

Introspection Late Night Partying. Rainy Day Relaxation Road Trip. Romantic Evening Sex All Themes. Features Interviews Lists. Streams Videos All Posts. Release Date November 1,

Although he did not have an album issued under his name as a leader until , pianist Pinetop Perkins actually should have had one released in , when he cut the eight tracks on this recently reissued Evidence CD for the Black and Blue label. They did not appear until , which is a shame. Perkins' trademark boogie-woogie riffs, rumbling rhythms, left-hand lines, and spinning phrases 6/

9 Replies to “Pinetop Boogie”

  1. Pinetop Boogie woogie: (Pinetop Boogie woogie - Pinetop Perkins) Joseph William Perkins (July 7, – March 21, ), known by the stage name Pinetop Perkins, was an American blues pianist. Perkins played with some of the most influential blues and rock and roll performers in American history and received num.
  2. Pinetop Is Just Top Written-By – Willie Perkins* 2: Pinetop's Boogie Woogie Written-By – Clarence "Pinetop" Smith, Willie Perkins* 3: Take A Little Walk With Me Written-By – Robert Lockwood Jr. 4: Rockin' The Boogie Written-By – Willie Perkins* 5: So Many Days Written-By – Willie Perkins* 6: Jacksontown.
  3. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the CD release of Boogie Woogie King on Discogs. Label: Black And Blue - BB • Format: CD Compilation • Country: France • Genre: Blues • Style: Piano Blues, Boogie Woogie. Pinetop Perkins: Boogie Woogie King /5(2).
  4. " Pinetop's Boogie Woogie " is a song initially recorded on December 29, in Chicago, Illinois, United States. It was released on March 1, by Clarence "Pinetop" Smith on Vocalion Records, a piano rag that cemented boogie-woogie as the name of its Format: 78 rpm record.
  5. Joseph William Perkins (July 7, – March 21, ), known by the stage name Pinetop Perkins, was an American blues pianist. Perkins played with some of the most influential blues and rock and roll performers in American history and received numerous honors during his lifetime, including a Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award and induction into the Blues Hall of Fame.
  6. In the #8 song in the charts was Pinetop's Boogie Woogie by Pinetop Smith. Watch the music video and discover trivia about this classic Pop song now.
  7. He recorded " Pinetop's Boogie Woogie " at Sam Phillips 's Sun Studio in Memphis, Tennessee. The tune was written by Pinetop Smith, who created the original recording in Perkins didn't write; he "got as high as third grade in school." He learned to play-off Smith's records.
  8. Pinetop's Boogie Woogie by Louis Jordan And His Tympany Five; Pinetop Smith. Decca ( B) Publication date Topics 78rpm, Dance Digitizing sponsor Kahle/Austin Foundation Contributor Internet Archive Language English. Performer: Louis Jordan.
  9. Clarence Smith, better known as Pinetop Smith or Pine Top Smith (11 June - 15 March ) was an influential American boogie-woogie style jazz pianist. Smith was born in Troy, Alabama and raised in Birmingham, Alabama. He worked for some time as an entertainer in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania read .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *