Category: Rock

Sophisticated Swing - Count Basie - Count Basie Swingin The Blues (Vinyl, LP)

Posted on by Vigami

Oh, Lady Be Good Louis Blues Tattersfield Stomp Rug Cutter's Swing Moten Swing Tuesday 10 March Wednesday 11 March Thursday 12 March Friday 13 March Saturday 14 March Sunday 15 March Monday 16 March Tuesday 17 March Wednesday 18 March Thursday 19 March Friday 20 March Saturday 21 March Sunday 22 March Monday 23 March Tuesday 24 March Wednesday 25 March Thursday 26 March Friday 27 March Saturday 28 March Monday 30 March Tuesday 31 March Wednesday 1 April Thursday 2 April Friday 3 April Saturday 4 April Sunday 5 April Monday 6 April Tuesday 7 April Wednesday 8 April Thursday 9 April Friday 10 April Saturday 11 April Sunday 12 April Monday 13 April Tuesday 14 April Wednesday 15 April Friday 17 April Saturday 18 April Sunday 19 April Monday 20 April Tuesday 21 April When the band voted Moten out, Basie took over for several months, calling the group "Count Basie and his Cherry Blossoms.

When Moten died, the band tried to stay together but couldn't make a go of it. The Barons of Rhythm were regulars at the Reno Club and often performed for a live radio broadcast. During a broadcast the announcer wanted to give Basie's name some style, so he called him "Count. Basie's new band which included many Moten alumni, with the important addition of tenor player Lester Young.

Rob Thomsett Yaraandoo played at the Reno Club and sometimes were broadcast on local radio. Late one night with time to fill, the band started improvising. Basie liked the results and named the piece " One O'Clock Jump.

We set the thing up front in D-flat, and then we just went on playing in F. Another Basie innovation was the use of two tenor saxophone players; at the time, most bands had just one. When Young complained of Herschel Evans ' vibrato, Basie placed them on either side of the alto players, and soon had the tenor players engaged in "duels".

Many other bands later adapted the split tenor arrangement. In that city in Octoberthe band had a recording session which the producer John Hammond later described as "the only perfect, completely perfect recording session I've ever had anything to do with". When Basie took his orchestra to New York inthey made the Woodside Hotel in Harlem their base they often rehearsed in its basement.

Basie recalled a review, which said something like, "We caught the great Count Basie band which is supposed to be so hot he was going to come in here and set the Roseland on fire. Well, the Roseland is still standing". The producer John Hammond continued to advise and encourage the band, and they soon came up with some adjustments, including softer playing, more solos, and more standards.

They paced themselves to save their hottest numbers for later in the show, to give the audience a chance to warm up. LP Filter Applied.

Record Size see all. Speed see all. Condition see all. Not specified. Please provide a valid price range. Buying format see all. All listings. Best Offer. Buy it now. Classified Ads. Drinking Hanging Out In Love. Introspection Late Night Partying. Rainy Day Relaxation Road Trip. Romantic Evening Sex All Themes. Features Interviews Lists. Streams Videos All Posts. Genre Jazz.

Jun 24,  · 50+ videos Play all Mix - Count Basie & His Orchestra - Swingin' Shepherd Blues YouTube Show of the Week - Count Basie and his Orchestra () - .

8 Replies to “Sophisticated Swing - Count Basie - Count Basie Swingin The Blues (Vinyl, LP)”

  1. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of The Count Basie Years on Discogs. Label: Roulette - RE • Series: Echoes Of An Era • Format: 2x, Vinyl LP.
  2. Label: Success - LP • Format: Vinyl LP, Compilation • Country: Italy • Genre: Jazz • Style: Big Band Count Basie - Swingin' The Blues (, Vinyl) | Discogs Explore.
  3. Jan 25,  · The Dynamic Count Basie Band recorded live in DISCLAIMER: All music, lyrics, videos and photos, remain copyright of their respective owners. No .
  4. Count Basie And His Orchestra Neal Hefti Basie his own band did not attain the same level of success as the famous bands he arranged for, he did receive a Grammy nomination for his own album Jazz Popswhich included recordings of "Li'l Darlin," "Cute," and "Coral Reef". It .
  5. Count Basie had an impressively long career; the influential pianist/bandleader/arranger formed his first big band in and maintained a busy schedule during the final months of his life (which ended in -- almost half a century after his first post-Bennie Moten performances as a leader). Over the years, Basie was pleasingly consistent; nonetheless, some of his recordings are more.
  6. Get the best deals on Vinyl Records Count Basie when you shop the largest online selection at halfcelltitegodfeperarinlelasag.xyzinfo Free Count Basie Orch ‎45 Going To Chicago Blues/Swingin Blues jazz big band VG+. $ Genre: Jazz. $ shipping. Joe Williams,Everyday I Have The Blues,Count Basie,Vinyl lp,Roulette. $ Top Rated Plus. $ shipping.
  7. No.3 in the series, Count Basie: Swingin' The Blues ?, chronicles Basie's life from the Kansas City years, discovery by John Hammond, triumph in New York with the floating swing of the All-American rhythm section and tenor saxist Lester Young, through to the eventual demise of the swingingest of big bands in January Reviews: 2.
  8. Sound quality of the latter is vastly superior. The Fresh Sounds version is produced in Spain and is a two-records-on-one-CD compilation of "Count Basie Swings and Joe Williams Sings" () and "The Greatest!! Count Basie Plays, Joe Williams Sings Standards" (). It goes without saying that these cats cut a groove a mile wide/5(38).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *