Category: Rock

Peoples Gathering - Black Lodge Singers - Pow-Wow Highway Songs (CD, Album)

Posted on by Banris

Composer James DeMars, who has written several classical compositions for R. Carlos Nakai, met with the Black Lodge Singers at their home pow-wow in White Swan, Washington to learn their singing style and song structure to be able to compose these works. Since Kenny Scabby Robe, 68, formed the group in with his 12 sons, the Black Lodge Singers — named for a band of tribal guardians who historically watched over the Blackfeet camp — have recorded 31 albums, been nominated for seven Grammy Awards, won top prizes at powwows, played with rock stars and orchestras, and performed for international audiences and dignitaries, including Pope John Paul II.

His sons, then ages 15 to toddler, begged Scabby Robe to take them to the powwow near their Yakama Nation home. Powwows are festive gatherings where dozens of groups come to sing, dance, drum and compete for prizes. Within days the boys were practicing, and Scabby Robe decided to teach them the traditional songs that he learned as a child and others that he had sung with his father-in-law, renowned singer Jim Weasel Tail, who died in Press ESC to exit. Email or Username.

Password Forgot login? Discover Featured Music Videos People. Sign up Sign in. All rights reserved. The Black Lodge Singers does not have any albums. Info Connections Comments Shares. Search Myspace Start typing Please try again.

You may send this item to up to five recipients. The name field is required. Please enter your name. The E-mail message field is required. Please enter the message. Please verify that you are not a robot. Would you also like to submit a review for this item?

You already recently rated this item. Your rating has been recorded. Write a review Rate this item: 1 2 3 4 5. Preview this item Preview this item. Pow-wow highway songs Author: Black Lodge Singers.

Thursday 7 May Friday 8 May Saturday 9 May Sunday 10 May Monday 11 May Tuesday 12 May Wednesday 13 May Thursday 14 May Friday 15 May Saturday 16 May Sunday 17 May Monday 18 May Tuesday 19 May Wednesday 20 May Thursday 21 May Friday 22 May Saturday 23 May Sunday 24 May Monday 25 May Tuesday 26 May Wednesday 27 May Thursday 28 May Friday 29 May Saturday 30 May Sunday 31 May Monday 1 June Tuesday 2 June Thursday 4 June Friday 5 June Saturday 6 June Sunday 7 June Monday 8 June Tuesday 9 June Monday 15 June Tuesday 16 June Wednesday 17 June Friday 19 June Saturday 20 June Sunday 21 June Monday 22 June Tuesday 23 June Wednesday 24 June Write a review Rate this item: 1 2 3 4 5.

Preview this item Preview this item. Series: Sound of Indian America. Allow this favorite library to be seen by others Keep this favorite library private. Find a copy in the library Finding libraries that hold this item Credits on container insert.

Event notes: "Recorded live at the largest pow-wow in North America. Series Title: Sound of Indian America. Responsibility: various drum groups. Reviews User-contributed reviews Add a review and share your thoughts with other readers. Be the first.

Black Lodge Singers Format: Audio CD. See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions. Price Pow-Wow Highway Songs by Black Lodge Singers Audio CD $ Only 1 left in stock - order soon. People's Gathering 5. 1,2,3 Dance Girl 6. Dancin' Beautiful 7. Eagle Plume Dancer.

8 Replies to “Peoples Gathering - Black Lodge Singers - Pow-Wow Highway Songs (CD, Album)”

  1. Music Sports Gaming Movies & Shows Old footage of Black Lodge Pow wow singing and druming by Ahwahneechee. by kontragerilla. Northern cree Crowstyle at regina powwow by mumphysluv. Eagle Feather Singers @ Winnebago Pow Wow by jajicash. Northern Cree Singers- Honor the Eagle Feather (Grand Entry).
  2. Twelve playful songs made by the Black Lodge Singers for kids of all ages to dance to during the pow-wow or just for fun. Includes Mighty Mouse, Flintstones, Mickey Mouse, Bunny Hop, Monster Mash and Ask Your Mom for Fifty Cents.
  3. ‎Album · · 12 Songs. Available with an Apple Music subscription. Try it free. The Black Lodge Singers) - Single You May Also Like See All. Live in Skopabsh Blacklodge Singers Enter the Circle - Pow-Wow Songs Recorded Live At Coeur D'Alene Black Lodge Pow Wow Trail Big River Cree Second Song Dancers' Choice!: Pow-Wow Songs.
  4. 8tracks radio. Online, everywhere. - stream 15 powwow playlists including native american, Northern Cree Singers, and a tribe called red music from your desktop or mobile device.
  5. Black Lodge Singers: Pow-Wow Highway Songs (Album) 3 versions: Sound Of America Records: US: Sell This Version: 3 versions Round Dance Songs ‎ (CD, Album) Canyon Records (2) CR US: Sell This Version: 1 – 5 of 5. Show. Reviews Add Review. Lists.
  6. Black Lodge Singers - Kid's POW-Wow Songs - halfcelltitegodfeperarinlelasag.xyzinfo Music. Skip to main content Hello, Sign in. Account & Lists Account Sign in Account & Lists Returns & Orders. Try Prime Cart. CDs & Vinyl Go Search Hello Select your /5(25).
  7. The Black Lodge Singers's albums: Listen to albums by The Black Lodge Singers on Myspace, Stream Free Online Music by The Black Lodge Singers.
  8. Black Lodge Singers are one of the most respected northern style drum groups on the pow-wow circuit, highly in demand as a host drum throughout the United States and Canada. The Black Lodge Singers are Kenny Scabby Robe(Blackfeet), his wife Louise (Yakima), and his 12 sons. Kenny is noted on the circuit as one of the leading pow-wow song makers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *